SCBWI Summer Reading List 2016

logo-scbwiThe Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators has released the SCBWI Summer Reading List 2016. Eagle Talons, The Iron Horse Chronicles–Book One is included. The following link will take you to the reading list organized by Divisions, or geographical regions, where the authors reside. To find Eagle Talons, scroll down and select the Southwest Division, which includes Nevada. The list will open as a PDF document.


After the file opens, scroll to page 104 and you will find the listing for Eagle Talons included in the category for Grades 6 – 8. The books within a grade category are listed alphabetically by title.

Before you leave the Southwest Division reading list, I want to point out two books written by friends from Nevada with whom I interface frequently.

Bull Rider CoverListed right about Eagle Talons on page 104 is Bull Rider by Suzanne Morgan Williams. Suzanne and I are both regular bloggers on Mad About MG History. Suzanne’s book is a multiple award winner, and it is a book that adults as well as middle-grade readers will enjoy.

Pirates Off the Deep End Cover


Scroll up the list to page 103 and locate Pirates Off the Deep End by T. W. Kirchner in the category for Grades 3 – 5. I had the privilege of critiquing portions of this fun book by Tina who is a fellow member of our local SCBWI Word Worms.

You may want to check out other Divisions to look for recommended books in the state or region where you reside.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Eagle Talons - Book One, The Iron Horse Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SCBWI Summer Reading List 2016

  1. stacy tiller says:

    Excellent choice for Summer Reading. The series has been on constant reserve at our Library all year, it never sits on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.